Udupi: Public demands reopening of two-year agriculture diploma programme

Daijiworld media network – (TP)

Udupi, June 12: Public demands for the reopening of a two-year agriculture diploma course, during the one-day protest organized by like-minded associations at the Udupi DC office on June 12.

The protest was held with the help of various associations such as Udupi District Farmers Association, Center of Indian Trade Union, Dalith Sangharsha Association, Karnataka Prantha Farmer Association and Karnataka Pranth Farm Workers Association. Staged protest against closure of Agriculture Diploma School, Brahmavar.

In the protest, like-minded members of the association, teaching and non-teaching staff demanded reopening of the college as a university college and use of the college and student hostel built at a cost of Rs 15 crore as it is going to waste. The closure of the college will affect the teaching and non-teaching staff of the college as they will lose their jobs. They demanded reopening of the university, the only way to earn a living.

Balakrishna Shetty, Vice President, Udupi District and State, Center of Indian Union, spoke about the closure of the college and said, “The government has prepared an order to convert this diploma college into a Degree College, but due to a lack of willpower it failed. Today we are sad that they are closing their diploma college. Udupi district has very few government schools and now they are trying to close the existing university. We demand that the agricultural school be opened and made into a real training school.”

Sampigedi Sanjeev Shetty, more famously, spoke about the importance of college and said, “To take advantage of the mechanization of agriculture, primary education is necessary. Unemployment allows people to pursue agricultural education and develop their own agriculture. If they close the college for agricultural degrees, we will strongly protest against it until they reopen the college.”
Balakrishna Shetty, Sudhakar Shetty, Sathish Shetty, Kaviraj, K Shankar, K Suresh Kallagar, Shashidar Golla, Subhash Nayak, Moodoli Ramesh Shetty and others were present at the protest.