Politics in Kerala: Thrissur DCC president Jose Vallur, UDF district president MP Vincent have quit

Thrissur District Congress Committee (DCC) president Jose Vallur and United Democratic Front (UDF) district president MP Vincent resigned on June 10 following the untoward incidents that took place at the DCC office recently.

Appointed Palakkad MP VK Sreekandan has been given the temporary charge of Thrissur DCC president.

“The incidents that took place at the DCC office last Friday (June 7) were unfortunate, tarnishing the image of the party. We resign and take responsibility for the untoward incidents,” MP Vincent said after his resignation.

They resigned after the district leaders’ meeting at the DCC office on June 10.

Mr Vallur and Mr Vincent earlier met with state and national leaders of the party to explain the situation. Top leaders have reportedly asked them to resign from their positions.

Tensions at the DCC office

The DCC office also witnessed minor tensions on June 10 between the followers of the DCC president and those opposing the DCC leadership.

Internal skirmishes in the Congress party in Thrissur intensified after the humiliating defeat of UDF candidate K. Muraleedharan in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, who was pushed to the third position.

A section of party workers alleged that the DCC leadership was responsible for Mr Muraleedharan’s poor performance in the Congress stronghold. The Youth Congress openly spoke out against the leadership of the DCC. Posters appeared in front of the DCC office blaming Mr Vallur and former MP TN Prathapan for the election defeat.

Earlier, Mr. Muraleedharan himself alleged lack of coordination from the party leadership during the election campaign.

The situation worsened last Friday when a group of party workers supporting Mr Vallur attacked DCC Secretary Sajeevan Kuriachira, claiming that he was behind the posters against the DCC leadership. Mr. Kuriachira was active in the UDF candidate’s campaign.

Tensions increased as more Congress workers came out in support of Mr. Kuriachira. Those supporting Mr Kuriachira and those supporting the DCC president clashed at the DCC office, prompting the police to file a case against 20 Congress leaders, including the Thrissur DCC president.

On June 10, there were mixed reactions to the resignation of the DCC leaders. While some cheered, others reacted emotionally to the dismissal.

Supporters of Mr Vallur protested against the ongoing incidents calling for his resignation. They said it was “not fair” to blame Mr Vallur and Mr Vincent alone for the election defeat.

This is a Premium article available exclusively to our subscribers. To read 250+ such premium articles every month

You have reached your free item limit. Please support quality journalism.

You have reached your free item limit. Please support quality journalism.

This is your last free article.